Video answer: Police chief faces drug charges
Top best answers to the question «Facing drug paraphernalia charges in new jersey»
If you are charged with possession of drug paraphernalia, you can face a disorderly persons conviction with up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Video answer: Councilman arrested on drug paraphernalia charges
9 other answers
Contact us at any of our five New Jersey offices, or call toll free at 1-877-450-8301. Nobody’s going to get sent away forever for possession of a bong or crack pipe. State law does provide, however, for some highly inconvenient penalties for possession of drug paraphernalia.
Title 2C, Chapter 36 of the New Jersey statutes concern itself with drug paraphernalia. The particular statute most used for people facing paraphernalia charges is N.J.S. 2C:36-2. That statute reads: It shall be unlawful for any person to use, or to possess with intent to use, drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, ...
In a typical drug or criminal case in New Jersey, the first thing that must be determined is whether the charge is for a disorderly persons offense or a more serious felony-level offense. A disorderly persons offense tends to apply to less serious drug charges like possession of drug paraphernalia and possession of a small amount of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS).
If you are charged with having less than 50 grams of marijuana you will face a $1,000- fine and up to six months in jail. You will also face “paraphernalia” charges. Possession in excess of 50 grams is an indictable offense. The Bergen County prosecutors’ office prosecutes all indictable drug charges.
Drug paraphernalia includes, but is not limited to, pipes, scales, bongs, plastic baggies, syringes, capsules, spoons, and rolling papers. Hiring an experienced defense attorney when you are facing drug charges in New Jersey can dramatically reduce your penalties and may leave you with no record at all, depending on your case.
An individual's legal options may vary depending on the type of situation he or she may be facing. Therefore, it is important ... Drug Charges
Within 1,000 feet of a school or school bus: 5 years in jail and a potential $150,000 fine. To a pregnant woman or a minor: Sentence doubling. If you are facing any marijuana-related charges, or any other drug charge in New Jersey, give our experienced firm a call today.
Possession charges are the most common drug charge in New Jersey. One is charged with this offense if found to be in possession of CDS. Possible CDS possession charges include less than 50 grams of marijuana, more than 50 grams of marijuana, and possession of drug paraphernalia. For possession of <50g of marijuana, the charge is considered a disorderly person offense in New Jersey.
The defense lawyers of Villani & DeLuca offer highly personalized advice and representation to residents and out-of-state visitors facing cocaine charges in Ocean County or Monmouth County, New Jersey. Contact us for a free consultation in Point Pleasant Beach if you have been arrested on a cocaine charge on the Jersey Shore.